Season Preview - Maidenhead United

Macclesfield Town
Posted:Tue 04 Jul 2017


Maidenhead United were founded in 1870 as Maidenhead F.C, and one year later they moved to York Road where the club still play today. After World War 1 two different clubs amalgamated, Maidenhead F.C and Maidenhead Norfolkians, to make the Maidenhead United we know today.

The club’s early years were spent in leagues such as the Great Western League, the Spartan League (which they won three times) and the Corinthian League (which again they won three times).

In 1963 the club switched to the Athenian League but the club couldn’t replicate the success they had in the Corinthian league. Ten years after the switch they once again switched leagues, as they were elected into the Isthmian League second division. The club stayed there until 1987 when the club was relegated for the first time in its history to Division Two. Four years later the club were promoted back again but stayed in mid-table

In 1996 former England and West Ham midfielder Alan Devonshire took over at the helm and finally lead the club to promotion into the Premier Division. However, Devonshire left in 2003 and under new management the club reached the Conference South for the first time. Although, it turned sour for the club as Maidenhead fell down the leagues and found themselves back in the Southern League in 2006.

Johnson Hippolyte then took the helm at York Road for the 2006/07 season and had instant success helping Maidenhead return straight back to the Conference South. In further seasons Hippolyte steadied the ship and helped Maidenhead to their highest finish in the club’s history in the 2008/09 season with a sixth-place finish.

Hippolyte left his post in the 2015/16 season and Alan Devonshire re-joined the club as manager and took the club to 7th , their highest placed finish in seven years.

Last Season

Last season was hugely successful for Alan Devonshire and his team as they won the Conference South title to gain a place in the National League for the first time in their history.

They fended off strong competition from rivals Ebbsfleet (who were also promoted to the National League) and won the league by two points and only lost four games in the entire campaign. They beat Margate 3-0 on the final day to seal the league title.

The star of the season was striker Dave Tarpey, as he blitzed the league and scored a record breaking 44 goals in a season. He and fellow teammate Alan Massey both made the National League South team of the year.

How to get there

By Train – Macclesfield – Reading station – Maidenhead Station

By Car – Head down the M6 on to the M42 and then the M40. Take exit 4 from the from M40 and continue on the A404. Then take the  A308 to York Road in Maidenhead

York Road, Maidenhead, SL6 1SF

arrow-45degchevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up cross facebook instagramletter linked-in logo-social-youtubemap-marker minusplay-solidplay plus quote-mark skype tripadvisor twitter whatsapp youtube