Changes To National League Play-Offs Confirmed

Macclesfield Town
Posted:Sun 11 Jun 2017

A round-up of the National League AGM at Celtic Manor Big changes to the National League play-off structure were yesterday approved at the National League AGM.Clubs voted to expand the existing format of the end of season shootout from four clubs to six, meaning that those clubs finishing 2nd – 7th in each of the three Leagues will contest the end of season play-offs.The matches will now be decided on a one leg basis as opposed to two legs, with advantage of being at home to those who finish higher in the table.These changes will come in to effect for the 2017/18 season across all three National League divisions.In basic terms this means the format in the National League will be as follows:Match 1:  4th v 7thMatch 2:  5th v 6thMatch 3: 2nd v Winner of Match 1Match 4: 3rd v Winner of Match 2Promotion Final (At Wembley): Winner of Match 3 vs. Winner of Match 4.Other AGM NewsIt was also confirmed at Celtic Manor that Macclesfield Town Chairman Mark Blower will be a club representative on the National League Board, whilst fixtures for the forthcoming 2017/18 season will be announced on Wednesday July 5th at 1pm.

arrow-45degchevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up cross facebook instagramletter linked-in logo-social-youtubemap-marker minusplay-solidplay plus quote-mark skype tripadvisor twitter whatsapp youtube