Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Played For Both : Crewe Alexandra

31 August 2018

As the only other Cheshire club in the Football League, you’d expect us to have shared a fair few players with Crewe. Ahead of our game at Gresty Road on Saturday, we see who’s had the honour…

Thierry Audel

French defender Audel joined The Silkmen in January 2013, becoming an ever present in the side for the rest of the season.

Audel moved to Crewe that summer, but failed to break into the senior side, making only 5 appearances for the Railwaymen.

Thierry returned to Macc in February 2015 and played all the remaining games that season, scoring twice in that time. Audel left for Notts County and has since played for Barrow and Welling United.


George Abbey

Abbey signed for Macc in 1999 for £10,000 and impressed immediately with his accurate long passes and natural flair.

George made 10 appearances for Nigeria during his time with the Silkmen, including playing in the African Cup of Nations finals.


Leaving Macc in 2004, George moved to Crewe for a short time before retiring from football and becoming a personal trainer.


Lee Bell

Lee started his career as a trainee at Gresty Road before signing his first professional contract with The Alex in 2001.

Signed by Keith Alexander in 2008, Bell didn’t make an immediate impact but won his place in the team after injury to Terry Dunfield left an opening.

Voted Player of the Year in the 2009/10 season, he then left to go back to Crewe that summer.

Lee came back to Macc in 2015 on loan, scoring three times, before announcing his retirement from football in the August.

He then went back to Crewe to assist with the Elite Player Performance Plan before being appointed manager of the U18’s - a position he still holds.


Alan Bradshaw

Bradshaw made over 300 appearances for Crewe and scored 50 goals since signing in 1965.

After 8 successful years, he made the short trip to Macc and stayed with the Silkmen for a year, appearing 56 times and scoring 10 goals.


Paul Clayton

Paul signed for Crewe in the late 1980s but failed to make a real impact in a struggling side so moved to Macc on a free transfer.

He made his debut in August 1991 and made a handful of appearances before moving on to Stafford, Stalybridge and Northwich, finally retiring from football and joining the NHS as a theatre technician.


Colin Daniel

Bought by Crewe for £20,000 in May 2007, Colin (or ‘Junior’) made 17 appearances for The Alex before coming to the Moss on loan.

Daniel signed for Macc after being released by Crewe and went on to make over 100 appearances over the next 3 years.

Not a prolific goalscorer but can claim a couple of memorable goals during his time as a Silkman, including a stunning 35 yarder against Crewe and Macc's final league goal before relegation in 2012, ironically also against Crewe!


Gareth Evans

With 2 years at the Crewe Academy under his belt, Evans joined Macc as a 19 year old in 2007.

Initially a regular on the bench, Evans broke into the starting line up and scored a number of goals (as well as earning a few red cards as well!) before moving to Bradford in 2009


Byron Jenkins

Another graduate of the Academy at Crewe, Jenkins was with The Railwaymen from the age of 12 to 20.

A badly broken ankle dented his chances of breaking into the first team, so he decided to try his luck elsewhere, gaining his coaching badges along the way.

Byron joined Macc as a coach in 2003 and quickly became involved in the youth set up alongside John Askey. Retained after the youth team was disbanded, Byron made his 2 appearances for Macclesfield as a player on the bench for  Cheshire Senior Cup ties in 2 consecutive seasons.


Efe Sodje

A man that needs no introduction at Macc, Sodje joined the Silkmen in 1997 for a then club record of £30,000.

Following 2 successful years at the Moss, Sodje left in 1999 and moved around a number of clubs, including Crewe where he made 97 appearances.

Efe returned to Macc in 2013, this time with the additional title of Assistant Manager under Askey.


Honorary mentions:


Colin Little, Jimmy McGill, Anthony McNamee, Steve Macauley, Willie Mailey, Carl Martin, John Miles, Amari Morgan-Smith, Phil Power, Kevin Rafferty, Colin Rose, Peter Smith, Neil Sorvel, Michael Symes, Rhys Taylor, Billy Telford, Albert Valentine, Steve Waddington, Stuart Walker, Carwyn Williams, Kyle Wilson, Adam Yates.

Advertisement block